Sources of errors in nautical charts

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bjr

I mentioned in my intro that, years ago, I worked on board a hydrographic research ship for NOAA, and @rsn48 asked if I could do a post about chart inaccuracies. So, with the caveat that I’ve been out of the hydrographic surveying game for a couple decades, here goes:

Like folks are probably aware, most charts (especially smaller scale charts) are made up of data collected by multiple sources over many years. And all but the most recent charting data suffers from three critical issues: position accuracy, depth accuracy, and coverage. I don’t know what the most current stats are, but it’s safe to say that well over half of the data on today’s charts was collected with old (sometimes very old) technology that suffers from all three of these factors to varying degrees.

When I was a young survey tech, I always looked forward to the early planning phases of our projects, looking at how the survey areas were laid out in the working grounds, daydreaming about what this reef or that salt chuck would be like to explore. And one of the coolest parts of that exercise was setting up the comparisons with past surveys.

As part of our chart package, HQ would send us copies of every survey that had ever been done in the regions we were responsible for mapping. And I mean _every_ survey. Oftentimes, these would include copies of 19th century surveys, US navy tracklines, etc. Part of our job was to verify shoal soundings or obstructions identified by these surveys, so we’d try to position them to the best of our ability, and then see if we could prove, disprove, or improve on the findings from these prior surveys.