Old boat insurance

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TonyBedortha

Hello everyone, I'm new to Trawler Forum and I'm looking forward to everything that's available here. My wife and I are looking at a 1979 37' C&L trawler, and I'm hearing that's its hard to impossible to find insurance on older boats. Does anyone have any help on this issue?

Hello everyone, I'm new to Trawler Forum and I'm looking forward to everything that's available here. My wife and I are looking at a 1979 37' C&L trawler, and I'm hearing that's its hard to impossible to find insurance on older boats. Does anyone have any help on this issue?

From what I can tell, experience and previous claims as well as location have a lot to do with it.... member Peter, Pau Hana username is an expert and hopefully will chime in or search the forum and send him a PM.

Find a marine insurance broker you trust and have them check in advance. They can do so having all the facts from you. They're not just dealing with the boat, but with the new owner and both are factors.

I agree about Pau Hana. Absolutely make sure you can get insurance BEFORE you buy the boat. If you make an offer make it contingent on insurance, survey and loan, if applicable. As said before it isn’t just the boat but they look at your experience in a similar size boat. Good luck.

Not impossible- older boats just need a bit more massaging so underwriting sees the complete story.

If you're a first time vessel owner, a newer vessel is oftentimes a better risk from the underwriting standpoint. Also, a first time owner will almost certainly require a number of hours of training onboard the vessel purchased prior to any solo operations.

The following all come into play regarding obtaining coverage:

• Vessel age, hull material, drive type, and fuel type
  • navigation area
  • ownership and operational experience
  • marine loss history